Bayfield/ashland county

Discussion in 'Wisconsin Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by murphslaw, Dec 3, 2009.

1. murphslaw

murphslaw Guest

Hunted wis. for first time during rifle season.Had 9 guys in our camp with 0 deer. 4 nice bucks were seen with 1 shot a clean miss.Not discouraged, just looking for any tips for next year. We hunted public land and everyone we talked to said the weather stinks,to many wolves and all the deer are in the swamps where they eat the moss and have no reason to move out of the thick nasty stuff.thinking about bringing a canoe next year for the bibbon swamp.Lower michigan gets so packed with people it's getting to be a headache.It's nice to get away and i love them choclate racks:bowdown:

2. I have been hunting Bayfield County for 24 years. There are some nice bucks up there but there isn't a lot of them Always said that we were going to hunt the Bibons but never did. The locals claim there is quicksand in the Bibons but I think that was to scare you off. We thought of a canoe to get into it but from what I understand there would be a lot of portaging to get any place. Suppose to be som real Big Bucks just to the North of Bibons in the farm country, but it is all private land.