What is the open carry policy in this state while hunting?

Discussion in 'General Wisconsin Hunting' started by Giterdone, Aug 24, 2009.

1. Am I allowed to carry a sidearm while hunting in this state? If the answer is no, why the hell not? I'm hoping my buddy was just messing with me. Shame on me for not knowing the gun laws better, but I figured I was covered under the Constitution. The last state I was in allowed concealed carry during all seasons. I'm new to Wisconsin and to say the least I was very frustrated (PC for fit to be tied/fuming angry) when I heard this. If I am carrying the sidearm for personal defense, and that purpose only, I see no problem with it. Between mountain lions, bears, wolves etc. I would think the state would understand.
    :coco:

2. It is allowed but call the DNR to be exact to what you can carry.

I think (and could be wrong) you can carry a revolver exposed. I know I do as I carry a .44 for some wolf control if needed while I grouse hunt. But I do think it has to be a revolver and not a glock or that type of weapon.

JW

3. You can OPEN carry in this state and while hunting. Where you open carry needs to be picked carefully, but for hunting it's not a problem to have a side arm along while bow hunting. To transport a hand gun it has to be unloaded and fully enclosed in a case. A holster is not legal for transport. This includes ATV's and Snow mobiles

4. Open Carry

I called the DNR and spoke to Law Enforcement Officer Tom last week and he said a pistol/revolver was allowed as long as it was visible. It cannot be under your raincoat or jacket. He also said if you don't have aholster you can carry it in your hand as long as it is visible.

5. If carrying during hunting season. Does it have to be a legal caliber for the season that is open ( say a .357 during deer season vs. a 9mm).