Wisconsin Big buck/doe contest picture thread

Discussion in 'Wisconsin Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by kurtish, Nov 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kurtish

kurtish Guest

Steve i couldn't figure out where to post my picture for the contest so i'm starting this thread for everyone to post into. I hope this will be alright.

[​IMG]

2. Steve

Steve Staff Member

Thats fine. Wow what a buck!

3. here is a picture of the buck I shot last week in Missouri. Hopingto get a bigger one here in WI!

[​IMG]

4. younggun

younggun Guest

Well I got out Sunday night and shot a big doe. I got to stand about 1:30 pm and got set for the cold after noon. I had a northwest wind right in my face, hoping to see a big buck.

At 3:00 I had a spike come from behind me and right under the tree. I let him feed and I looked at him for a bit. He was a big body spike, so I studied him as he fed up. I heard walking in the leaves and look to see this big doe standing under the stand.

I let her get out to the bait pile where the spike and her met. I looked at her with the binocs, and studied her for a bit. I guessed her at 2 1/2 or 3 1/2 years old with no fawns. She would not let the spike in the pile and would run him off. The spike took off down the trail and split.

She came back and stood with her butt to me for a long time. Then she took 2 steps to the right. I set the pin on my Forge Smoke, lower then I wanted and let it fly. She jumped the string, hitting a little higher then I wanted. But the Slick Trick came out under the off side shoulder. She went 20 yards and stopped. That is where she laid. I saw her drop from the stand. I still waited 30 minutes to see if a buck came in. I got out of stand and checked on her and to tag up.

I made a few calls to get some help as I walked to the truck. By the time I got to the truck and every one was there.

A big thanks to Steve Huber's Outdoorfrontiers, QAD, Slick Tricks and F.O.Bs.
    [​IMG]

5. Steve